Faculty Directory

  • Katie Appleby

    First Grade Assistant

    B.A History – University of Tennessee

    • appleby@esknoxville.org
  • Cameron Basden

    Social Studies

    B.A. American Studies — University of Washington

    Pending M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction — Western Governors University (grad. 2016)

    Active and project-based learning is critical to not only a student’s learning experience, but also in fostering and creating engaged and interested learners. 

    • 865-218-4470
    • basden@esknoxville.org
  • Chris Bishop

    First Grade

    B.S. Elementary Education

    M.S. Educational Psychology

    Kids learn best through interacting with their world and through discovery. We use a hands-on approach throughout the curriculum and encourage kids to wonder and ask questions. I believe in taking kids where they are and finding ways to challenge and encourage them and take them as far as they can go in developmentally appropriate ways.

    • (865) 218-4454
    • bishop@esknoxville.org
  • Melissa Bornemann

    Fourth Grade

    B.S. Marketing – University of Tennessee

    M.A. Teaching – Carson-Newman

    Effective learning requires a collaboration between teacher, student and parents, grounded in mutual respect and trust. 

    • (865) 218-4483
    • bornemann@esknoxville.org
  • Marsha Brophy

    MS Physical Education & Wellness

    B.S. Education with a concentration in Human Performance and Sport Studies

    Certified Trainer–American College of Sports Medicine

    Middle School students need an encouraging environment to take on physical challenges.  My goal is to provide a well rounded program where students can develop skills, increase fitness and have a positive experience in P.E.

    • (865) 777-9032 ext. 307
    • brophy@esknoxville.org
  • Anna Calhoun

    Art

    B.F.A – Santa Fe University of Art and Design

    B. Ed. – Lincoln Memorial University

    Art enables us to perceive, evaluate and express personal experiences unique to each of us. It is my desire to provide fun and meaningful art making that fosters our students creative potential and to see and perceive their world in new ways. 

    • (865) 218-4499
    • calhoun@esknoxville.org
  • Melissa Callahan

    Communications Director

    B.S. Sport Management – University of Tennessee

    M.S. Journalism & Electronic Media – University of Tennessee

    • (865) 218-4476
    • callahan@esknoxville.org
  • Elizabeth Campbell

    Junior Kindergarten Assistant

    B.S. Education – University of Tennessee

    M.S. Psychology – California Lutheran University

    • campbell@esknoxville.org
  • Monica Chesnutt

    Kindergarten Assistant

    • chesnutt@esknoxville.org
  • Miranda Clark

    LS Librarian

    B.A. Religious Studies – University of Tennessee

    M.I.S. – University of Tennessee

    Children are intelligent, curious and capable beings. Our role as caretakers and educators is to provide a safe and inspiring environment for them to explore, experience and discover the world. I believe the library is an ideal place for this kind of exploration and is an essential component of a child’s learning environment. I believe literature is essential to a child’s intellectual, social and emotional development and that children deserve access to the highest quality literature available. 

    • (865) 218-4479
    • clark@esknoxville.org